The Piccante Sausage Solution


I get told off quite a bit for being a bit strange when I’m shopping. I’ll forget that I’m in public and sing with headphones in, chat excessively to the staff and spend an hour debating over what chopping board to buy. It’s a good job I was alone the other day because I would have definitely had a stern look or two. 


I was working in Birmingham during the day and I was passing through this little arcade of shops (The Great Western Arcade, to be exact) on my way to the train station. I sort of sauntered in and out of a few places, there are quite a few nice little independent shops in there – notably, an incredibly beautiful corsetiere called Sparkle Wrens and a deli called Anderson & Hill. I bought some piccante sausage (which is actually the feature of this post today!) and a few bits and pieces and wandered into this chocolatier called Chouchoute, which is absolutely delightful. 

Doubtlessly, it is one of the seven wonders of the world, but it was more the owner of this glorious establishment that made an impression on me. I wandered in just to have a peek at the long glass counter and the flavours that were nestled inside, an hour and a half passes and I’m still in there, chatting away to the owner, a lovely French man called Pierre. We covered a lot of topics, but travel and food were the two biggies. Now, I obviously love food, I love learning about it, I love eating it, and I love talking about it. I don’t have a great deal of people who share that kind of passion in my life, so I think I must have had some stored up food enthusiasm ready to leak out of me. It was incredibly refreshing, speaking to somebody who, although was on an entire other plane of skill to me, shared the same inherent passion and infatuation with good food. He spoke with me about if I ever wanted to train in France to become a chocolatier or a pâtissier, and that if I learned a skill with my own two hands, that I would be sorted and respected for life, in any country.

He spoke with such vigor, but so plainly about how important it is to be fed well, that I left feeling incredibly energised. I left, and I immediately wanted to go and buy a plane ticket to Paris, I wanted to go home and bake and cook and learn everything there is to know, regardless of how long it took me. It’s kind of peculiar  actually, that I had such a profound conversation with a complete stranger, it’s funny how little things like that can happen when you’re least expecting it.

But any how, in that energised state, I went home and I made a simple, but delicious meal. Now it’s not extravagant, it’s actually, probably one of the easiest (and quickest) recipes I’ve ever done, but it’s time to share. 

If you’ve ever found yourself picking up a ready-made pasta sauce in the supermarket because you don’t have time to do anything else, this is a recipe for you. Put it down! Never touch that gloopy, sugary crap again. It’s bad for you, and over priced. This sauce is incredibly simple, fast, inexpensive and helps to use up some extra roast chicken from a Sunday lunch. 


My second infographic of the month, I think I’m starting to enjoy this! If you can get your hands on some good quality sausage (I’m sorry, I can’t help myself, the puns and innuendos are just right there), this is quite an authentic pasta sauce. It’s made from fresh ingredients, with a soffrito base (that’s the chopped carrots, celery and onion) and it’s not too complicated. That’s what I like, use good ingredients, keep it simple. There’s no need to stress, cooking should be relaxing and enjoyable guys, it’s not difficult.
It should look a little like this…

A wise man once said to me (lets call him Pierre) that if your table is without a good home cooked meal then it is ’empty’. So, my wish to all of you is that your tables never be empty!

Peace
JR

