The Wanderer Has Returned


The wanderer has returned from a saunter around Europe! I am full of, both, vitality and sadness in equal tow.

Just a little background, I have been away for six weeks altogether, and I have visited ten countries, and sixteen cities in that time. I have eaten and witnessed so many cuisines across Europe that I don’t even know where to start, so chances are you’ll be reading through one of my future posts and hearing “This one time, in Slovenia…” and so on. Minus the flute-related incident. Well, I’ve sat at my laptop for several hours over the past few days and have written nothing but babble and tat (I am aware that this is still leaking into my writing today). I’m still getting back into the swing of things, so bear with me while I remember how to tie my apron strings and write coherent sentences. 

There was many a time when I thought “I really must make this when I get home”, but alas, there were so many things it has formed a bit of a backlog of tryouts in my brain. That’s the problem with inspiration, it can be so very inconvenient. To help separate my thoughts I went back to my usuals, Tastespotting, Foodgawker, Allrecipes and Pinterest, but I decided sod it (I didn’t say sod, but for the purpose of politeness I’m going to say I did). And I left for the kitchen. I made something incredibly simple. Porridge, that’s all I made. A handful of oats, a few glugs of water, a few glugs of milk, raisins, bananas and brown sugar. And I was so happy to be home for that minute. Apparently, oats haven’t crossed the channel to the mainland in a big way, and I really did miss the taste. 

I know it doesn’t seem like much right now. But hey, I’m a normal person, I don’t always want to freeze ice cream in the shape of a train and I don’t have the patience, or skill, to make cake pops. When I want cake, I want a lump of something that resembles a cake, and tastes amazing. And that’s it. Sometimes with a little bell and maybe a few whistles. 

Peace 
JR

