Showtunes and Cheesecake


Hello all my lovely summer bunnies!

This is a quick recipe post for the beautiful Emma over at http://emmaandjake.wordpress.com/. She asked me so very nicely for a recipe for a basic cheesecake recipe, and I realised that I hadn’t actually put up the last one I mentioned. So here it is, for you cheesecake lovers.

I’m quite particular with my cheesecakes, not too sweet, nor too tall, and with a big thick crumbly base . I’m not a huge fan of really fruity cheesecakes either, I had a bad experience with some mango cheesecake once and it’s left a bad impression upon me, so this is quite simple. Although the recipe for this one is just the base, I actually made one with caramel chocolate. I had some caramel smudge spread from Hotel Chocolat in my cupboard, as well as some marscapone cheese – not that I normally have these things in my house, it just happened to be at the same time! So I mixed those two bad boys together and made a two layer cheese cake. Thus named after the song I was singing along to whilst making it.

I Dreamed a Dreamy Cheesecake
Makes 25(ish) bites.

200g digestive biscuit
2 tblsp sugar
100g butter, melted

2x Philadelphia Light (200g)
175g caster sugar
2 tblsp plain flour
2 tsp vanilla extract
3 large eggs, + 1 yolk
4 tblsp sour cream/greek yoghurt

NB – There is a choice  here, if you like shallow bites use a wider tin, if you want a more classic round, tall one just choose perhaps a 11″-ish tin. Also it’s useful if you line it and brush the sides with butter. If you’re having a taller cheesecake, add an extra tub of 200g Philadelphia Light and an extra 75g of sugar.

– Preheat to 160C fan oven/190C oven/gas mark 5. Either blend the biscuits or hammer the crap out of the digestives until they’re crumbs. Add the melted butter and sugar until well combined. Press it into the tin and bake for 5-10 minutes, keep an eye on it so it doesn’t catch in bits. Then take it out and let it cool on the side. Turn up the oven to 190C fan oven/220C oven/gas mark 7.

– While you’re waiting for the base to cool, you can make the filling! Beat the soft cheese until it’s all creamy and yum, gradually add the sugar, then the flour and a pinch of salt. Add in the vanilla and lemon juice and mix it up well. Add in the eggs one by one, mixing in between until all are combined and lovely.

– Stir in the greek yoghurt/sour cream, pour into the prepared the tin and bake for ten minutes. Turn down the temperature to 90C fan oven/110 oven/1/4 gas mark and cook for a further 25 minutes. Turn the oven off completely to leave it to cool. If you like a drier, crumbed style of cheesecake, leave the oven door shut, if you like it creamier style cheesecake let it cool in the oven with the door open. Leave it for about two hours to cool completely. Don’t worry, it might crack a little on top, but if you like it a little more rustic, or if you’re covering the top with preserve it’s not a big deal. Otherwise…sorry!

Should look a little like this little one here, minus the layer of caramel chocolate!

And that’s it, it’s pretty simple. If you want a topping, black cherry or blackcurrant preserve goes pretty nicely, just warm and pour over the top and leave to set overnight in the fridge (cover it up! It absorbs strong flavours like your wouldn’t believe!)

I hope you like it as much as I do!

Peace
JR
