English Summer in March


I have a wonderfully quick post for you today so I can go make the most of this beautiful sunshine!

Anyone reading this from the UK will know how beautiful-a week we’ve had weather wise, getting upwards of 22˚ C near me, which is crazy for any time of the year, never mind in March. So in true English style, me and my friends rushed to the shops to splurge out the items required for a barbecue, the standard burgers and sausages and buns and whatnot. You get the general drift. I was actually inspired to write about this yesterday, but seeing as today is even more wonderful and the fact that I’m actually having a barbecue, I thought I’d include a really tasty recipe for the wonder that is the Brit-barbecue. This truly modern idea of “Holy crap the sun is shining, GET THE BARBECUE!”, is the inspiration for this post. It’s sticky, smoky, a little bit spicy and really fast to make, so if you’re having a barbecue today, try it out on anything, vegetables as a sweet glaze, as a sauce on top of hot dogs or burgers, it’s quite versatile. And naming it “British” barbecue chicken is not in reference to the ingredients or particular style of Great Britain, but more the idea of how fast it is to make, so you can get your chicken before the sun goes behind a cloud.


British Barbecue Chicken Skewers
Enough for 6 people as a main or 15+ as extras to a barbecue

6 chicken breasts, chopped into medium chunks
2 tblsp black treacle
2 tblsp tomato puree
2 tblsp Heinz tomato sauce
3 cloves of garlic, crushed
A glug of Olive Oil
1 tsp (ish) of lemon juice
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

– This is really simple.
– Put all of the ingredients except the chicken and mix together well. Taste to see if it’s to your liking, if it’s too sweet, add more lemon juice, not garlic-ey enough? Add more. Easy.
– Put the chicken in and stir until  lightly coated with the sauce.
– Thread onto skewers and cook on the barbecue until sticky and yum.
– I’m going to say about 5 minutes each side for the chicken on an open barbecue, but please take care when you’re cooking because dependent on the size of your chicken and barbecue heat, it could take longer.

They should look something like this…apart from the crispy bits. I can tell you that I most certainly did not get distracted drinking cider in the sunshine whilst waiting for these to cook…

And that’s it. Perfect for the flash-in-the-pan style barbecues we have over here in the UK! I have this normally as a meal during the week in Summer, usually with spiced sweet potato wedges and salad. It all goes together rather nicely and is a pleasant alternative to plain salads in the Summer time.

I trust that you’re all enjoying the mini-Summer we have at the moment, or if you’re in a hot country, just enjoying the sunshine anyway. I hope I’ve inspired you to get those coals smouldering and get the cider/beer/Fanta on ice.

Peace
JR
