Bludger Sweet Potatoes


I had a bit of an American morning yesterday. Browsing Reddit, Foodgawker and Etsy, as per. But I sat, longing for the day when I would get a recipe accepted to Foodgawker, something caught my eye. Whilst browsing through the immaculately taken photographs, almond and peanut parsnips hit me, square in the face…like a bludger. I absolutely love root vegetables, I don’t care what time of year, any excuse for earthy spices and starchy vegetables. The reason I added almond butter instead of just peanut butter is, apart from the fact that they produce two very sexy and different outcomes, but because my sister can’t eat peanut butter anymore, and I think she’ll really like them. Simply.

So instead of a full, complicated recipe, I give you a sort of concept to try.

 
Bludger Sweet Potato Wedges (aka, Almond Butter/Peanut Butter)
Serves 4 as a side or 2 as a lunch

3 or 4 medium sized sweet potatoes, scrubbed, not peeled (keep the goodness in!)
3 or 4 tablespoons almond or peanut butter, or both if you fancy.
A drizzle of olive oil
Pinch of sea salt

Something wonderful about this recipe is that it’s really nice, and really easy. 

– Preheat oven to about 180C/gas mark 4 and lightly oil a baking tray
– Slice the sweet potatoes into relatively skinny wedges, and leave aside.
– Mix all the other ingredients in a bowl to the side. If you’re using almond butter, you won’t need much oil, if you’re using peanut butter, not only will you maybe need a little more oil, but a tiny bit more salt to counter-act the sweetness. But the better peanut butter you get, the less sweet it’ll be. I’ve found Whole Earth peanut butter is awesome.
– Toss the wedges and bake for about 35-50 minutes, depending on the amount you make and size of wedges. Turning up the heat for the last 5 minutes of cooking to crisp even more.

And that’s pretty much it. 
For now, i’m off to go and try to make some sort of biscuit or delicious treat.

 
Peace.
JR
